Posted November 27, 2012

Temple honors faculty for service contributions

Eighteen Temple faculty members were honored by the Office of the Provost and Faculty Senate Steering Committee for their many service contributions to the university during the second annual Outstanding Faculty Service Awards brunch held on Nov. 8.

Awards were presented to one faculty member from each of Temple’s schools and colleges, including the newly established Division of Theater, Film and Media Arts. Honorees were presented with a certificate recognizing their outstanding service efforts.

Despite last-minute rescheduling due to Hurricane Sandy, the event was attended by more than 60 people, including President Richard M. Englert, Provost Hai-Lung Dai, several deans, chairs, faculty senate steering committee members and several 2011 award recipients.

“This distinguished group of faculty members has made tremendous contributions to their departments, schools and colleges and the university,” said Dai. “Their work strengthens Temple as a vibrant institution of higher learning."

The 2012 recipients shown above are:

First row: Arvind Parkhe, Fox School of Business and Management; Jo-Anna J. Moore, Tyler School of Art; Mary E. Myers, School of Environmental Design; Nannette Vliet, College of Health Professions; Sharee Solow, representing Jeffrey G. Solow, Boyer College of Music and Dance; Laura Toran, College of Science and Technology; and Daniel J. Canney, Temple University School of Pharmacy.

Second row: Luis T. Gonzalez Del Valle, College of Liberal Arts; Daniel W. Boston, Maurice H. Kornberg School of Dentistry; Avshalom Kaplan, College of Education; Elizabeth Leebron Tutelman, School of Media and Communication; Kathleen A. Reeves, Temple University School of Medicine; Christine P. Miller, Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine; Scott E. Rutledge, School of Social Work; Robert Hedley, Division of Theater, Film and Media Arts; Debra K. Blair, School of Tourism and Hospitality Management.

Not shown are: Dennis A. Silage, College of Engineering and Nancy J. Knauer, Beasley School of Law.

Posted In: Staff & Faculty
Related Topics