Posted February 7, 2007

Dawn Staley named 2007 Henry P. Iba Citizenship Award Female Winner

Given by the Rotary Club of Tulsa, Okla., the award, which is named in memory of former Oklahoma State University and U.S. Olympic basketball coach Henry Iba, is given each year to a male and female athlete who have excelled in both their sport and in their service to others.

Staley — a five-time WNBA All-Star and a three-time Olympic gold medalist — joins an impressive list of past award winners including Peyton Manning, Drew Bledsoe, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Karl Malone, Michelle Akers, Shannon Miller and Rebecca Lobo.

Recently, Staley was honored for her off-the-court contributions as well.

Beginning this year, the WNBA will present the Dawn Staley Community Leadership Award to the player who best exemplifies the characteristics of a leader in the community in which she works or lives.

The award presentation will take place on June 4 at the Renaissance Hotel in Tulsa.