Posted April 16, 2008

Founder’s Celebration honors Temple alumni, friends on April 26

On Saturday, April 26, the Temple University Alumni Association will host its annual dinner, the Founder’s Celebration, where alumni and friends will gather at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to celebrate Temple’s traditions and supporters.

The event honors 17 Certificate of Honor awardees, alumni from each of the university’s schools and colleges who have distinguished themselves in their fields, as well as four additional awards, the Stauffer Faculty Award; the Alumni Distinguished Service Award, the TUAA’s highest alumni honor; the Russell H. Conwell Award, for outstanding university service by a non-alumnus or -alumna; and the F. Eugene Dixon Jr. Inspiration Award, for outstanding support of the university’s student athletics program.

The black-tie-optional event begins with a 6 p.m. reception, followed by an awards program at 7 p.m. presented by news anchor and Temple lecturer Amy Caples, a School of Communications and Theater alumna. Cocktails, hors d’oeuvres, dinner and dancing begin at 8 p.m.

Reservations must be made by Friday, April 18, through (select “Alumni Weekend 2008” to register) or by calling 215-204-7521.

$90 per person; $25 per person, graduates of the years 2003-2007; complimentary to members of the 25th and 50th reunion classes (1983 and 1958).

2008 award winners

Alumni Distinguished Service Award: Solomon C. Luo (MED ’86)

F. Eugene Dixon Jr. Inspiration Award: Athole G. Jacobi

Russell H. Conwell Award: Johanna S. DeStefano

*Stauffer Faculty Award: Samuel D. Hodge (LAW ’74)

*Kornberg School of Dentistry: Sarah Ann Gray ('82, '04)

School of Podiatric Medicine: Jay Saul Schnitzer ('71)

Fox School of Business: Gabriel A. Battista ('72)

School of Social Administration: Susan Wayne (’71)

Ambler College: Mary Anne Blair Fry (’58, ’77)

College of Engineering: Timothy A. Reese (’94)

Boyer College of Music and Dance: Marguerite L. Brooks (’75)

College of Liberal Arts: Paul L. Formal (’73)

Tyler School of Art: Richard D. Hricko (’79)

College of Education: George W. Roesser (’97)

School of Tourism and Hospitality Management: Sandra L. Slabik (’95)

Beasley School of Law: Hon. Sandra Mazer Moss (’64, ’75)

School of Pharmacy: Michael H. Renzulli (’63)

College of Health Professions: Judith T. Fullerton (’81)

School of Communications and Theater: Alan Ross Kosher (’69)

School of Medicine: Karen M. Starko (’75)

College of Science and Technology: Angelo Armenti Jr. (’65,’70)

*Current Temple faculty/staff