Posted October 22, 2009


Joseph V. Labolito/Temple University

Matt Lauer, co-host of NBC's Today, speaks to students in the Joe First Media Center at the School of Communications and Theater. Lauer was on hand to attend the 2009 Lew Klein Alumni in the Media awards, a signature School of Communications and Theater event recognizing media professionals and Temple alumni for significant contributions to their field and communities. 

Lauer, known for his globetrotting special "Where in the World is Matt Lauer?," was honored with this year's Excellence in the Media Award at the ceremony held in Mitten Hall. He also participated in a question and answer session with moderator Terry Ruggles, anchor of NBC 10 News Today, before meeting with students to discuss careers in the media industry.

Five Temple alumni were also honored at the awards ceremony with their induction into the school's Hall of Fame: Bernie Prazencia, president of 6ABC, Phil Jasner, sports writer for the Philadelphia Daily News, Steve Sansweet, head of fan relations at Lucasfilm Ltd., Irv Randolph, managing editor of the Philadelphia Tribune and Addie Collins-Zinone, co-founder of the non-profit Pro vs. GI Joe. 

Proceeds from the event benefit the Lew Klein Excellence in Media fund, which provides scholarships to students who take internships, study abroad or create independent projects. The awards are named for Lew Klein, an esteemed faculty member and seasoned media professional.

—kyle Bagenstose