Two School of Medicine faculty members selected for prestigious NIH posts

Joseph Cheung, senior associate dean for research and professor of medicine at Temple University School of Medicine, and Xiao-Feng Yang, professor of pharmacology, professor at the Cardiovascular Research Center and professor at the Sol Sherry Thrombosis Research Center at Temple University School of Medicine, have been selected for prestigious posts as members of National Institutes of Health (NIH) study sections.

Members of NIH study sections are seasoned experts in their scientific disciplines and are selected on the basis of their research accomplishments, publication records and scientific honors. Study section members review grant applications submitted to the NIH from investigators all over the country, make recommendations on the applications to national advisory councils and survey the status of research in their fields.

Cheung has been selected for the NIH Electrophysiology, Signal Transduction and Arrhythmias Study Section. Yang has been selected for the Atherosclerosis and Inflammation of the Cardiovascular Systems Study Section. Their selections are effective July 1, and carry terms of five to six years.