Theobald appoints Presidential Committee on Campus Sexual Misconduct

Amid heightened national attention to sexual assaults on college campuses, Temple University President Neil D. Theobald has appointed a Presidential Committee on Campus Sexual Misconduct to ensure that Temple has in place highly effective procedures for handling complaints of sexual violence and related offenses.

In appointing the committee, composed of faculty, staff and student leaders, Theobald said Temple is proactively addressing one of the most significant issues facing colleges and universities.

“While I am confident that Temple’s policies on sexual misconduct meet or exceed federal guidance, I am committed to identifying ways in which we can further enhance the university’s broad range of resources that address these serious and complex matters,” Theobald said. “I expect that committee members will provide thoughtful recommendations that are informed by their unique perspectives and unified by the goal of providing a healthy, safe environment for all members of the Temple community.”

When the committee convened Sept. 15, Theobald outlined its charge: to conduct a universitywide climate survey to better understand perceptions of the issue; to fully review current policies and procedures; and to assess best practices from other institutions. Conducting climate surveys is among the recommendations put forth in the first report of the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault.

Temple’s committee is chaired by Laura A. Siminoff, who joined the university in March as dean of the College of Health Professions and Social Work. Siminoff said committee members plan to make recommendations to the president by early 2015. Theobald will then review and report the committee’s findings in the spring semester.

“We want to be certain that Temple is equipped to provide the best possible services for prevention, investigation and adjudication of sexual misconduct reports,” Siminoff said. “Equally important is providing effective psychological and social support to best serve our students. All of these issues deserve our utmost attention and care.”

Members of the Presidential Committee on Campus Sexual Misconduct


  • Laura A. Siminoff, dean, College of Health Professions and Social Work


  • Richard Greenstein, professor, Beasley School of Law
  • Alice J. Hausman, chair and professor, Department of Public Health; executive director, Center for Preparedness Research, Education and Practice
  • Bernie Newman, associate professor, School of Social Work   


  • Sandra Foehl, director of equal opportunity compliance; Title IX coordinator
  • Sherryta Freeman, senior associate athletic director for compliance and student-athlete affairs
  • Stephanie Ives, associate vice president for student affairs; dean of students
  • Charles J. Leone, executive director, Campus Safety Services


  • Cameron Etezady, associate university counsel

Student Leadership

  • Blair Alston, Temple Student Government
  • Brittany Lewis, Temple Student Government
  • Nicholas Perugini, College of Health Professions and Social Work

Committee Support

  • Mary Kate Kalinich, Beasley School of Law
  • Kristin Kopec, College of Health Professions and Social Work
  • Laurie Ann Maurer, College of Health Professions and Social Work